How These Filipino Business Owners Made Time for What They Loved

One-Stop Tax Concierge Service Taxumo Premium Makes Taxes Easier, for Solopreneurs and Self-Employed Professionals to Focus More on their Passion

For Tiffany Valenzuela, her lifelong dream at first seemed to be just like that–a simple dream that was never coming into life.

All her life, she just wanted one thing: to put up her own convenience store. But after getting a college degree, that dream was put on hold for her regular job.

“My sister and I have always dreamed of owning our very own 24-hour convenience store, coffee shop, and restaurant just because we were raised around food,” she shared. “But when we finished college, life got the better of us–plus we both got really good careers in the BPO industry.

“Owning a business was just that: a dream.”

But it was a dream that kept resurfacing.

“We kept on going back to our dream. That was the beginning. We talked and explored and visited a lot of 24-hour stores, coffee shops, and restaurants just to get a more solid idea of what we wanted, which, after doing so and with very little to no money, we said: ‘Let’s do the convenience store’.

“We decided that the summer of 2018 was our season–especially with our kids on their summer vacation.”

How A Husband Let His Partner Pursue His DreamAnd Eventually Discovered His Own

For digital marketer Julian Canita, he had to leave his life in the Philippines so his wife could pursue her dream job in Malaysia.

“My wife was assigned in Penang, Malaysia, and I decided to live with her. I couldn’t get a job there,” Julian said.

Frustrated with his job hunt, Julian eventually stumbled upon the world of online freelancing.

“I discovered digital marketing and how people are actually willing to pay for someone to take it off their hands so I started freelancing. I started doing this back in 2015 as a means to generate income.

At first, I started doing it as a means to earn. Pero when we came back home (in 2017) and saw how small business owners and entrepreneurs struggle with making their businesses grow, I kind of found a purpose in it.

“I really love teaching it, especially in my live workshops where some entrepreneurs experience Facebook ads for the first time, and you’ll see it in them na sobrang daming possibilities yung na-open up sa kanila,  and they get excited and reinvigorated.”

The Stumbling Blocks to Pursuing One’s Passion

But it wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows for both of these business owners.

“Realizing our dream was one thing. Putting it into motion was different, especially when it came to the legal stuff,” said Tiffany.

“We had no extra manpower, no idea on how to go about it (despite me attending BIR’s orientation). Cash to do all those stuff wasn’t just lying around.

“We just knew that we had to have the right permits and pay the right taxes.”

Meanwhile, Julian disclosed:

“I wasn’t trained to sell, so client acquisition was very difficult for me getting started.

“Also, I didn’t know how to hire and delegate. So for years, I did everything alone which limited my growth.

“I incorporated in Malaysia without doing any sort of validation on my first business idea which flopped, and left me spending 40,000 pesos in incorporation fees that went to nothing.

“Even here, when I got home, I had to educate myself on incorporation, registration & taxation before I considered getting help and asking others about it.”

How Taxumo Premium Made It Easier for Them to Do What They Loved

“Three things that worried me were filing the correct papers, filing the correct taxes, and lining up,” Julian said. “There were a couple of times wherein I had issues with how I was filing and inputting.”

He then discovered Taxumo Premium–Taxumo’s one-stop tax concierge service perfect for business owners like him who didn’t have the time or know-how to DIY their taxes.

With Taxumo Premium, Julian wholly delegated the task of filing and paying taxes to the Taxumo team.

“All were completely taken care of, computations were done for me. Plus, NO LINING UP! As an impatient guy, this was really a no-brainer for me.”

It was the same relief that Tiffany experienced when she finally subscribed to Taxumo Premium:

“Taxumo Premium made me focus on the inventory and sales, rather than worrying about tax due dates and sitting down longer than expected to compute my income, expenses, and whatnot.

“Before, I had to pay a hefty penalty because I missed filing one form.

“Taxumo Premium made sure I filed the right forms and paid on time.”

“No Holds Barred”: Julian & Tiffany’s Advice for Fellow Business Owners

Both Julian and Tiffany understand that pursuing one’s passion comes with its set of challenges– but with the right help, all of these challenges can be overcome.

“Take it all in. No holds barred,” Tiffany advises. “It’s not easy. But really, nothing is when you’re starting out, but it does over time when you love what you do.”

Julian agrees.

“When I tried to do everything, it stopped me from growing my business. I was always stuck at a level which I did not want to be: servicing just a couple of clients at a low monthly rate.

“But when I learned to let go of control and to trust, that was when I started to experience growth.

“It was when I sought the help of other people and services like Taxumo that I was able to really focus on what I am best. It took away the stress to worry brought about the things I had difficulty understanding.”

Leave a comment